Back to HCC home

Text size

Large / Normal

Contact info

Corporate Communications Fax
(860) 224-5779

Both campuses
(860) 224-5695

Other info

Press release details

Hospital Board of Directors Elects New Officers

New Britain [December 14 2005] - The New Britain General Hospital board of directors elected new officers at the hospital’s annual board meeting on Thursday, Dec. 15.

Former New Britain Superintendent of Schools Marie S. Gustin, Ph.D., was elected chairman. Gustin has been a member of the board since 2002 and a corporator of the hospital since 1973. Gustin is a life-long resident of New Britain and has been active in many civic, charitable, and social organizations. She was superintendent of schools for 18 years and served in administrative or teaching positions in academia since 1956, both locally and at Boston College where she was awarded a teaching fellowship and earned a Ph.D.

“I was honored to be asked to serve,” said Gustin, who was born at New Britain General. “I am following in the footsteps of others who have guided the hospital to its current level of operation, serving the Central Connecticut region with leading edge, compassionate health care. I hope to add to that legacy.”

Gustin takes over for Harry N. Mazadoorian, who served as chairman since 2003. Mazadoorian, who will remain on the board, helped to guide the hospital through its recent and very successful $7.5 million fundraising campaign.

“We are so fortunate to have Marie Gustin working with us toward improving health care for our community,” said Hospital President Larry Tanner. “Marie is one of the great assets of our community. She has more than 21 years of management, organizational, and education experience; she a tireless and dedicated community servant.

“We also want to extend our thanks to Harry Mazadoorian for everything he has done for New Britain General,” Tanner said.

The new board chairman is also a licensed psychologist and a Eucharistic minister at St. Maurice Roman Catholic Church in New Britain. Gustin currently serves on the boards of the Maximillian E. and Marian O. Hoffman Foundation, the American Savings Foundation, and Banknorth’s Connecticut board. She is also a corporator of St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center. She is a past board member of the Alliance for Youth, the Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs of New Britain, the YWCA, the New Britain Museum of American Art, the Governor’s Partnership to prevent substance abuse in the workplace, the Hospital for Special Care, the New Britain Chamber of Commerce, and United Community Service, among others.

Also elected as a new officer was Lindsley Wellman as vice chairman.

Other board members are: John Andreoli Jr. MD, Connie Collins John Dillaway, Kristina Fletcher, Robert Lapkin MD, John Manning, Joan Mercier, John Miller Ph.D., Henry Nozko Jr., John Patrick Jr., Thomas Sherer, Jack Smith, Larry Tanner, Edward Toffolon MD, Susan Venberg, and William Weber.

Contact: Corporate Communications, 860-224-5900 x6507

HCC Corporate Communications
(860) 224-5695 • Fax (860) 224-5779